Music Interpretation: Butterflies – Zendaya

Hi again! The first week back at school has been pretty fun. Instead of science, now I have multimedia, which is like art class, but on a computer. And of course, being the electronic-loving girl that I am, I would love a class where you could make art on a computer all period!! I was already used to waking up late and relaxing though, so this morning I woke up with lots of pain in my back from the work that I suddenly got back to doing.

Today, I’m introducing something new. Music Interpretation is when I take a random song and try to interpret its lyrics. It could be a song I like or hate. Or it could be a song I had never heard before. In this case, it’s a song I like. You could request for me to do a Music Interpretation on a song you suggest in the comments below. Because of my kid-friendly policy, I will never do songs that are explicit. If there are bad words, I’ll simply just “clean” them or eliminate the song entirely, based on how bad the word is. If there is an explicit word in the title, it is automatically a no. If it has an explicit theme, then also no.

Don’t take my interpretations seriously, because most of the time, it won’t be what the song really means.

zendayabutterflies

Today, I’m going to be trying to figure out Butterflies, by Zendaya. I honestly love this song, I like the part that you don’t really know when the song really starts, because it starts with no sound, but gets gradually louder. Now let’s begin.

P.S. For choruses or other parts that are repeated through the song, I won’t comment a second time.

Wait a minute
Every time you’re near
My body’s getting reckless
Hope I don’t regret this

Why is she getting reckless? Is it because she’s nervous that this guy is really close to her and she doesn’t want to ruin her chances by messing things up and she doesn’t want to regret anything she does? Well, I don’t blame her. It’s a familiar feeling that almost everybody has when their crush is close to them.

Wait a minute
The way you make me feel
I can’t keep my focus
It’s too much to resist

Yup, still talking about the feeling of anxiousness near your crush.

I’m over being under your spell
It keeps blinding me
Was too blind to see, yeah
I’m not the only one that you tell
That I’m the only one

Huh. There’s something different. So, she’s tired of getting all nervous whenever he’s near, apparently he is putting a “recklessness spell” on her, and it keeps her from focusing on important things. But “I’m not the only one that you tell that I’m the only one”? HUH?

Oh I get it. He’s sort of a player. He goes around telling girls that they’re the only one that he truly loves, when they’re not.

[Chorus:]
But my heart keeps telling me the perfect lie
You rip me up with every last goodbye
I don’t wanna say forever
It’s just another now or never
So heart don’t let me trust these butterflies
I don’t trust these butterflies-flies
‘Cause they fool me every time

Hmmm… now it sounds like an on-and-off relationship. But doesn’t “every last goodbye” imply more than one goodbye? Therefore, it should be “every goodbye”, even though I understand it wouldn’t really fit the tune. And “I don’t wanna say forever/It’s just another now or never”, doesn’t that mean she likes him, but doesn’t want to stay with him forever? But she’s also saying that right now is her only chance, or she’ll never be with him. And where are these deceiving butterflies from? Her stomach? The North?

 Wait a minute
You want another try
Like the time befo-ore
Then a million mo-ore

Great, now the guy wants another chance. Then a million more chances. I’m beginning to think that this guy she likes is acting sort of like a jerk, and she’s not being very smart about it.

Wait a minute
I’m ready to fly
No need to read your mind
I can read the signs

Yup, now he wants her back, and she’s ready to fly with him, even after all the times he’s said goodbye.

I’m over being under your spell
It keeps blinding me
Was too blind to see, yeah
I’m not the only one that you tell
That I’m the only one

Yup, same as before.

[Chorus:]
But my heart keeps telling me the perfect lie
You rip me up with every last goodbye
I don’t wanna say forever
It’s just another now or never
So heart don’t let me trust these butterflies
I don’t trust these butterflies-flies
‘Cause they fool me every time

Oh, those devious little butterflies.

You wanna catch me before I’m gone
But I’m already there
Yeah, I’m already there
You wanna stop me from moving on
But I’m already there
Yeah, I’m already there

Oh, so now the tables have turned. He realizes that he really does want her, but she’s finally learned her lesson and has moved on.

[Chorus:]
My heart keeps telling me the perfect lie
You rip me up with every last goodbye
I don’t wanna say forever
It’s just another now or never
So heart don’t let me trust these butterflies
I don’t trust these butterflies
I don’t trust these butterflies
I don’t trust these butterflies-flies
‘Cause they fool me every time

Well, that concludes today’s Music Interpretation. Make a request below, and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a Reply

